Week in review: 30 December 2019 – 5 January 2020

5 days into the new year and

  • I have been to the gym twice (I might have mumbled too often about going there more because my boyfriend now makes me);
  • our Christmas tree is still up and I have negotiated to keep it for another week (it really still doesn’t lose many needles and it’s just sooo pretty);
  • we have started the New York Times 7-Day Sugar Challenge because it is not too crass and we can easily cut out certain amounts of sugar during the day;
  • I learned to use a grapefruit spoon – until recently I had never even heard of or seen them, but they are so useful, like maybe this is the secret to eating a grapefruit without endless spatter;
  • we cleaned up one of the kitchen cabinets and, miraculously, all pots and frying pans finally fit in properly and there is even some extra space;
  • the weather still makes me happy because everybody went on about the endless NYC winters (not that I believe them, I just think most of them have never experienced endless 7 months long Boston winters) and the forecast doesn’t look bad either – we seem to keep temperatures between zero and ten degrees plus;
  • politics in contrast make me extremely sad and anxious, and I don’t support Trump’s decision to assassinate the Iranian general, which I feel was neither necessary nor legitimate;
  • I have started to knit again and really enjoy it;
  • the cat has become so fluffy and snuggly because he simply loves when I stay at home;
  • it has been such a great and relaxing vacation that I don’t feel like going back to work – and at the same time I am so ready now to go back to work.

Week in review: 30 December 2019 - 5 January 2020 - janavar

Week in review: 30 December 2019 - 5 January 2020 - janavar
Week in review: 30 December 2019 - 5 January 2020 - janavar
Week in review: 30 December 2019 - 5 January 2020 - janavar

|Watched| Cats, Lost in Space, Traumschiff, Mordkommission Istanbul, lots of German fairytale movies
|Read| American Royals*, Chocolate Cream Pie Murder*, The Essex Serpent*, The New York Times, Time Magazine*
|Listened to| my favorite 2019 songs on Spotify
|Done| slept a lot, moved as little as possible – but went to the gym twice, read much, watched a lot of movies
|Eaten| Greek bowl, goulash, jelly filled donuts, lots of Christmas cookies, cheese sandwich, oranges
|Drunk| water, coffee, different teas, sparkling wine on NYE
|Thought| I probably should do something for work … like tomorrow
|Been happy| every single day because I didn’t have to do anything, but could just snuggle up on the sofa next to Canavar, read and watch TV
|Laughed| Canavar’s favorite place seems to be on my belly, esp. when he is sleepy and doesn’t want me to get up
|Desired| I know I know, Christmas has just passed, but I honestly wonder if we need a crock pot* or an air fryer* – Do you have any of these kitchen appliances? Do you use them regularly? Which ones can you recommend?
|Bought| food, a bit of yarn for some needlework
|Clicked| these dishes look delicious (I have always loved looking at food): 9 Green Recipes That You’ll Actually Want to Eat; I like Ina’s latest blogging project about sharing recipe with seasonal produce every month, although I am not yet sure if I’ll participate: Saisonal is(s)t besser – Bloggerprojekt 2020

© janavar

* contains affiliate links

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.